Please note that location entries may feature older photos or post card views that may not represent the current appearance or features of the attraction. This site is intended to be a historical as well as current record of various attractions but it is not always possible to have up-to-date information due to the vast number of locations featured here. We ask you consult the propietor for current information.
Source: Kara Tillotson
The Electric opened on Sunday April 21 1907.Two days later the management closed it until they could get new equipment as they were unhappy with the quality of the show that they presented. Three months later the management of the theatre changed hands and re-opened in July 1907. various renovations had been made such as floor elevation and electric fans.
In 1913, Charles Russell became the owner and operator.( He also owned the Royal and the Gem) In January 1918 Allen Christianson, the owner of the Electric Theatre sold it to Otto J Lauer who managed the Lyric theatre. Lauer closed the theatre in July 1918. A newspaper articles announced that it would reopen under new management on sat Oct 12.
On the day it was set to reopen all Churches pool halls theatres and congregations were to be closed indefinitely due to the sweeping influenza epidemic sweeping the country. The theatre opened a month later after the influenza ban lifted on the city.It closed for good Aug 1919.