Please note that location entries may feature older photos or post card views that may not represent the current appearance or features of the attraction. This site is intended to be a historical as well as current record of various attractions but it is not always possible to have up-to-date information due to the vast number of locations featured here. We ask you consult the propietor for current information.
Long a fixture on Bridge Street, the main artery through the picturesque town of Charlevoix, the Cinema III originally opened as the Palace Theater. It was designed in a mock-Tudor style, painted in shades of blue in its later years, and had a small balcony.
For many years, it ran films only in the summer months, as Charlevoix, in the first part of the twentieth century, was a summer resort town. Around 1959, new owners changed the name to the Cinema III (which was strange, since it remained a single screen theater until its closing), and it became a year-round theater.
It closed around 2002 when its owner built a new Cinema III (with three screens) on nearby Antrim Street. The former theater became a clothing store. [Cinema Treasures - Christopher Walczak]